Shott Excellence in Media Award

Download a complete copy of the award description, criteria, and selection process.


Submit your nominations.


The Shott Excellence-in-Media Award is an annual award presented by Bluefield College designed to recognize a local member of the media who demonstrates excellence in his or her vocation and who, through his or her work in journalism, makes a significant contribution toward the local community. Excellence can be defined as a journalist who consistently goes above and beyond his or her peers or one who increases awareness of important public issues or one who inspires personal action through the use of the media.

The award, intended to recognize achievement in print, broadcast and electronic media, is also designed to acknowledge those who offer significant service to journalism or media education. The award, including a one-time $1,000 cash prize, is presented each year during Bluefield College’s Media Appreciation Day and Shott Excellence-in-Media Awards Program.

As a principal figure within your organization, you have been selected to participate in the nomination process for this year’s award. Please complete the nomination form below and submit it to the Bluefield College Office of Public Relations no later than Wednesday, April 16, 2014. It is extremely important that all nominations be received by April 16 in order to be considered in the selection process and to assure that a winner can be determined in time for this year’s Media Appreciation Day.

Please nominate no more than six and no less than two candidates. Please note, half of your nominations must be for journalists from other local media outlets and half from your organization. In addition to the names of nominees, please include comments or other information supporting why each person is deserving of the award. Questions: please e-mail

The winner will be announced during BC’s Media Appreciation Day, Wednesday, April 30, 2014, 11:30 a.m., Shott Hall. Please mark your calendar and plan to attend.

Shott Excellence in Media Award Nomination Form