Seniors to Celebrate Winter Commencement
One hundred Bluefield College seniors will accept diplomas during the school's 20th Annual Winter Commencement, Saturday, December 17 at 10 a.m. in Harman Chapel, featuring a keynote address from Virginia Senator Phillip Puckett and the presentation of Honorary Doctorate degrees to two distinguished retired BC professors.

Seniors to Celebrate Winter Commencement

By Chris Shoemaker | December 9, 2011 | RSS


Winter Commencement keynote speaker Senator Phillip Puckett.




Retired professors Will Gordon (left) and David Armbrister, who will receive Honorary Doctorate degrees during Winter Commencement.

A native of Russell County, Virginia, Senator Puckett has represented Virginia's 38th District in the Senate since 1999. During his 12 years in the legislature, he has served on 19 standing and legislative committees, including the Transportation Committee; Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources Committee; Commerce and Labor Committee; Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission; Virginia Unemployment Compensation Commission; the Southwest Virginia Cultural Heritage Commission; and the Southwest Virginia Health Facilities Authority.


A graduate of the University of Tennessee and Virginia Tech, Senator Puckett's career also includes a term as vice president of business development for First Bank and Trust Company and service as a member of the Lebanon Community Fellowship, Russell County Chamber of Commerce, and Lebanon Volunteer Fire Department.


In addition to Senator Puckett's remarks, the Winter Commencement program also will feature the presentation of Honorary Doctorate degrees to retired BC professors David Armbrister and Will Gordon. Together, the two professors accumulated 72 years of service in the BC classroom -- 40 for Gordon, 32 for Armbrister -- before retiring several years ago.


As a tribute to their vast loyalty, the college will present both Honorary Doctorate degrees during the Winter Commencement program. Gordon, who holds the longest tenure of any member of the BC faculty, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science degree. Armbrister, who is also known as the college's official historian, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Humanities degree.


"These honorary degrees provide an opportunity for Bluefield College to express its appreciation to Mr. Armbrister and Mr. Gordon for all they have contributed to the college, their profession, and society," said Julie Hull Johnson, chair of the BC Board of Trustees.


The Winter Commencement program also will include a traditional charge to graduate from Johnson on behalf of the Board, as well as a scripture reading from Professor Cynthia Bascom and special music by students Allison Deel and Keri Joyce.


Bluefield College candidates for graduation for winter 2011 as of December 7, 2011 include:
Randi S. Akers, Newport News, Virginia
Marlene Cooper Ali, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Robert D. Bailey, IV, Pineville, West Virginia
Carolyn S. Barrett, Tappahannock, Virginia
Robert Richard Barton, Jr., Blue Ridge, Virginia
Wallicia Y. Baskerville, South Hill, Virginia
Pete J. Beavers, Bluefield, Virginia
Allan Belcher, Forest, Virginia
Robert Alan Billips, Bluefield, Virginia
Chantel L. Blunt, Youngstown, Ohio
Sean W. Blunt, Brooklyn, New York
Kasandra Lynette Board, Rocky Mount, Virginia
John D. Boatwright, Goochland, Virginia
Latasha Lyn Bowman, Galax, Virginia
Michael Wayne Brashear, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Stephanie Lee Bratton, Radford, Virginia
Mischelle Brown-Mayo, Colonial Heights, Virginia
Jacqueline F. Bunting, Richmond, Virginia
Tracy Renee' Caldwell, Richmond, Virginia
Richard Dean Case, Abingdon, Virginia
Frederick Keith Chambers, Centreville, Virginia
Rhonda K. Compton, Richlands, Virginia
Shannon Codaire Conner, Danville, Virginia
Rose Angell Croft, Salem, Virginia
David Shawn Cruise, Blacksburg, Virginia
Dennis M. Dean, Charlottesville, Virginia
Allison Nicole Deel, Springville, Virginia
Anita A. Woodyard-Dodson, Dublin, Virginia
Candace L. Dungee, Richmond, Virginia
Marcea Petronia Renay Easter, South Hill, Virginia
Donese Jeannene Elligan, Richmond, Virginia
Stephen Marcus Fields, Chilhowie, Virginia
Zuliekia Arnela Foster, Richmond, Virginia
Takashi Monique Franklin, Aiken, South Carolina
Janice R. Gillis, Lawrenceville, Virginia
Katherine Ann Giovannini, Stafford, Virginia
Kimberly Nichole Godette, Chesapeake, Virginia
Devin Good, Baltimore, Maryland
Sarah Katherine Graetzer, Henrico, Virginia
Ashlee Nichole Grogan, Princeton, West Virginia
Brian Andre Hackett, Spotsylvania, Virginia
Emilie Hope Hagee, Bastian, Virginia
Paula N. Hairston, Midlothian, Virginia
Shanyn Kay Hansen, Troutville, Virginia
Barry Preston Harman, Vinton, Virginia
Michael J. Headrick, Frederisckburg, Virginia
Kiara LaShae Honore, Anchorage, Alaska
David Heath Hyatt, Narrows, Virginia
Shellie Belcher Ingraham, Rock, West Virginia
Christopher R. Johnson, Manassas, Virginia
Keri Elizabeth Joyce, Richlands, Virginia
Robert Michael Kennedy, Chesapeake, Virginia
Sara S. Khan, Bristow, Virginia
Patrica Carolyn Kirk, Giles, Virginia
William R. Knox, Powhatan, Virginia
Jabe Lenwood Largen, Dublin, Virginia
Timothy Michael Lavoie, Enid, Oklahoma
Kevin Philip Law, Pembroke, Virginia
Hannah R. Lawrence, Bluefield, Virginia
Patrice Michele Hayden-Lewis, Roanoke, Virginia
Kevin Kar-man Li, Chesapeake, Virginia
Ronald L. Marsh, Roanoke, Virginia
Linda Kay Meade, Princeton, West Virginia
Jessica Esther Christian Moroles, Houston, Texas
Katrina Morris, Tampa, Florida
Mark Radcliffe Nugent, Chesterfield, Virginia
Britney Fellio Olson, Chesapeake, Virginia
Lisa Yvette Patterson, Chesterfield, Virginia
David Norman Peppler, Sr., Apple Creek, Ohio
Rebecca Catherine Perry, Newark, Delaware
Dalasue Delissa Phillips, Bluefield, West Virginia
Paul B. Poff, Roanoke, Virginia
Barbara A. Quick, Prince William, Virginia
Colin Dane Rasnick, Orange, Virginia
Jeremiah D. Rasor, Christiansburg, Virginia
Adam Bradley Reedy, Troutdale, Virginia
Cynthia Jane Martin Richards, Roanoke, Virginia
Harriet L. Roane, Glenns, Virginia
Blake Edward Royal, Christiansburg, Virginia
Jennifer Whitaker Rush, Christiansburg, Virginia
James Roy Pierce Shelton, Richlands, Virginia
Wesley Michael Simms, Chesapeake, Virginia
James Eugene Smith, Roanoke, Virginia
Sarah Danielle Stevens, Tazewell, Virginia
Jennifer Reynolds Stokes, Roanoke, Virginia
Felicia Vandorea Stretcher, Richmond, Virginia
John Timothy Tapolcai, Woodbridge, Virginia
Susan Rorrer Thacker, Collinsville, Virginia
Melissa Diane Thomas, Pulaski, Virginia
Shelita Tucker, Charlottesville, Virginia
Stefany Scott Turner, Bland, Virginia
DeAndra Shunell Vaughan, Fredericksburg, Virginia
Melissa Ann White, Princeton, West Virginia
Katrina Chambers-Whittle, La Crosse, Virginia
Elesha H. Wikle, Christiansburg, Virginia
Rachel Marianne Williams, Evington, Virginia
Tyler Keith Wilson, Patrick County, Virginia
Pamela E. Wood, Portsmouth, Virginia
Elizabeth A. Wright, Richmond, Virginia
Sheena Moria Young, Fredericksburg, Virginia.



Media Contact

Chris Shoemaker, Director of Marketing and Public Relations