Rams Open 2010 NCCAA World Series with 8-2 Win

May 19, 2010 | RSS

The Bluefield Colllege men's baseball team returned to the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) Division I World Series for the fourth year in a row, Wednesday, May 19, but this time as the number one overall seed and the defending NCCAA National Champions. And, after winning five consecutive games to claim the World Series title in 2009, the Rams opened the 2010 NCCAA national tournament much like a year ago with a convincing 8-2 win over Indiana Wesleyan University to remain undefeated over the two-year span and to advance to day two of the 2010 10-team, double-elimination playoff.


The Rams trailed Wesleyan, 2-1, after four innings of play, until Ryan Lambert smacked a three-run home run in the fifth to put BC up 4-2. The Rams added four more scores in the sixth, keyed by a two-run home run from Tony Singleton, to take control of the game 8-2 heading into the seventh and final inning (the NCCAA World Series format calls for just seven innings of play per game).


Senior Devin Good led the BC comeback going 3-4 from the plate, and nearly every other Ram tallied a hit as the Rams outslugged IWU 9-7. Donald Howell, recently selected a 2010 NCCAA Divsion I All-American, and David Gibson combined on the mound to limit the Wildcats to just two runs. Gibson earned the win.


Indiana Wesleyan earned an at-large bid to the NCCAA World Series as the Mid-Central College Conference tournament runner-up. Seeded ninth out of 10 teams in the NCCAA World Series, they had won 14 of their last 20 games, including a day one World Series marathon win, 9-7 in 12 innings, over King College of Tennessee, who was seeded eighth.


Bluefield earned its fourth straight NCCAA World Series bid and the number one seed in the tournament by posting a 38-14 overall record in 2010 and finishing as the Appalachian Athletic Conference tournament runner-up. The Rams (39-14) will now play Thursday, May 20 at 4:15 p.m. against five-seed Spring Arbor College (33-19) of Michigan, who won its opening round game, 5-2, over four-seed Judson University of Illinois.